Anumar's Fall Book II: Paradise Lost

Buy from
Available at
Category: Contemporary
Date Published: August 4, 2013
Number of Pages: 393
Print Price: $
eBook Price: $

Ugo Ezeani's book Anumar's Fall Book II: Paradise Lost is about a raging war over the Blessed Seat in Paradise, perhaps better known to us as Heaven. Book II: Paradise Lost is the sequel to Anumar's Fall Book I: Prophecy.

The basic concept is that Amadon, highest of the gods, currently holds the Blessed Seat. His brother Onigon wants the Blessed Seat and will war with him to obtain his goal. However Amadon cannot be dethroned as long as he has the loyalty of Kinra, his daughter, The Watcher of Love and Beauty. In Book I of Anumar, Kinra's star fell to earth and a young mortal woman known as Natoya was raised in a village by adoptive parents in the Southlands.

Possessing exceptional fighting skills, Natoya is sent to rescue village children abducted by the people of Zai who want to sacrifice them to a different god. The children were saved but Natoya is captured. She makes a miraculous escape by surviving a leap into the Maiden River.

Book II: Paradise Lost opens with a detailed battle among the beastgods, creatures who cannot die but whose war exacts severe destruction upon the earth. Others become embroiled in battle in heaven as well as earth while we continue with Natoya's story.

Natoya, who is Kinra the Heavenborn, fights to find her way back home to her mother and the boy, who believe her to be dead. She must journey through many lands to obtain passage to her home in the Northlands. Among her major challenges, she must fight in the King's Contest, possibly to the death, in an attempt to win passage home. If she wins, she is assured a ship and safe passage.

Ugo Ezeani's vast universe is elaborate with a hierarchy of gods and goddesses who are fighting amongst themselves and choosing sides. These divinities are divided into different groups, including celestians, the Five Children, beastgods – who are part human and part animal and have been fighting for 500 years. Although these beastgods can be maimed, they heal, regrow limbs and cannot die.

The most powerful of the 15 clans in the book is the Akurim Clan. We also have Watchers – which consists of individuals who are each a type of god. These Watchers oversee various aspects of human life aided by mediators and vassals, also known as subordinate watchers. There are two Pantheons of watchers – one celestial – which number approximately 40 and beastgod watchers which number approximately 35.

There are also The Hosts – which appear to be a force of soldiers known as clouds for Amadon and floods for his brother Onigon – as well as spirit-keepers and others who volunteer to join in. We also learn about mortals on earth. The terminology of the characters, customs, locations, fighting styles, prisons, clothing, as well as other elements are vast and well detailed in the story.

It was somewhat difficult for me to connect to the story line in the beginning of this book for I had not read Anuman Book 1. Book II has a summary of Book I but then opens in the middle of a detailed battle between the beastgods, The storyline became more clear several chapters into the book.

There is a glossary at the end of the book and I suggest that readers familiarize themselves with these terms and characters which number well over a hundred before they start to read.

From a Catholic prospective, this book does not contain explicit aspects of cultural Catholicism – its sacramental life, prayer, etc. But it does have Catholic elements, such as the importance of striving for Heaven, the battle between good and evil, the existence of angels as well as mortals.

If you enjoy fantasy, and classical Greek literature as well as descriptive epic battles, rich with details, you will enjoy Anumar's Fall Book II: Paradise Lost, but I suggest you start with Book I Anumar's Fall Book I:Prophecy.

Original Language: English
Book Dimensions:

Subscribe to the weekly e-newsletter Catholic, Ink. - click here - receive book reviews and the column "The Catholic Imagination and You"

Be part of the Catholic Literary Revival.

As a child, I loved to read, whenever and whatever I could get my hands on. I started to write my own “Nancy Drew” type mystery in fifth grade. As a student, I studied Biology in Vermont, Sciences and Literature in college and eventually became a physician. I enjoy writing mysteries that contain medical and light spiritual content. Either way, a good murder mystery is always fun.

My first book, The Bench, is set in the fictional town of Rocky Meadow, VT. The Rocky Meadow Mystery series then continues with Fatal Breach. Dr. Amy Daniels is a former trauma surgeon from Boston who moves to Rocky Meadow, VT to escape family tragedy. There she meets, Father Michael Lauretta, the psychologist pastor of St. Francis church and Rocky Meadow Retreat Center. Together, they solve mysteries with the help of Katie, the church cook, Willow, a teenage millionaire and Father Victor, visiting priest from Chicago. In Fatal Breach, the characters become involved with a murder at a local soup kitchen.

While solving crimes, the main characters deal with life, loss, starting over and developing an appreciation for the friends and loved ones in their lives.

Linda Rawlins lives in New Jersey with her family. When she is not working in medicine, she is writing.

Come visit me at – sign up for my newsletter.

You can also find me on Facebook at , , and

Healthy Blessed Reading!

Leave your comment

Catholic, Ink.

Be part of the Catholic Literary Revival

Sign-up for this free weekly e-newsletter and receive the free article - "What is Catholic Fiction?" Read the weekly column The Catholic Imagination and You and more.

Search Books

Catholic, Ink.

Be part of the Catholic Literary Revival

Sign-up for this free weekly e-newsletter and receive the free article - "What is Catholic Fiction?" Read the weekly column The Catholic Imagination and You and more.